New Mauritian Government: Sir. Anerood Jugnauth (December 2014)

General elections were held in Mauritius on 10 December 2014 and resulted in a victory for the Alliance Lepep coalition, which secured 47 of the elected seats under the leadership of Sir Anerood Jugnauth, while the PTR–MMM alliance under Navin Ramgoolam only got 13 seats.

Prime Minister Navin Rangoolam lost his own seat and accepted defeat after voters rejected his proposals to boost presidential powers. Former president and Alliance Lepep leader, 84-year-old Sir Anerood Jugnauth became prime minister in the Indian Ocean island nation. Alliance Lepep is a coalition led by the Mouvement Socialiste Militant (MSM) with other parties including the Parti Mauricien Social Démocrate (PMSD) and the Muvman Liberater (ML).

Mauritian Government: Dr. Navinchandra Ramgoolam (July 3, 2005)

After the election held in the Republic of Mauritius, July 3rd, 2005, the Alliance Sociale was swept into power with a 53.57 percent of votes cast to take all 60 parliamentary seats on  the island. The turnout was 81.52 percent. The ousted government coalition of Paul Raymond BERENGER  (MSM/MMM) won just 41.7 percent of the votes only.

© 1996-2020 Maurinet.com - All Rights Reserved - Disclaimer - Privacy Policy - Designed and Maintained by COMPNet Ltd